A Pre-K through Grade 12 Coordinate School Located in Honolulu

Awards Galore!

Awards Galore!

The St. Andrew's Schools' campus was bustling with energy and excitement May 23, as parents and loved ones came together to congratulate students from The Priory's Upper and Lower School and The Prep, for their hard work and many accomplishments throughout the 2017-18 school year. The morning was jammed packed with three back-to-back awards ceremonies in The Cathedral of St. Andrew, all unique and special in their own way. During each of the three ceremonies, Head of School Ruth Fletcher reminded each student that they each bring unique gifts and talents to the Saint Andrew's School 'ohana and exemplify the school motto: Kulia i ka Nu'u (Strive for the Highest).

Lower School

In the Lower School ceremony, our youngest students greeted guests by signing and acting out "You are My Sunshine." Lower School Principal Ka'ipo Bailey-Walsh welcomed guests to the ceremony. Next, The Honorable Judge R. Mark Browning, chief judge of the First Circuit Court, took the stage for a special surprise. He welcomed the "beautiful and intelligible" young women and unveiled the reason for his visit. "I'm here to honor two of your students, who's accomplishment will be recognized across the state." He was referring to the top two winners of this year's statewide Law Day 2018 Poster Contest.

Browning – who told the crowd that his wife was a student and his mother-in-law a teacher at The Priory – presented the first-place award certificate and medal to fifth grader Brooke Jones into the Law Day 2018 Poster Contest. Fourth grader Juliana Shi was presented with the second-place award certificate. Browning told the students that their artwork would hang in one of the state's courtrooms, along with a plague inscribed with their name and title of their masterpiece.

In between award presentations, the first graders performed "Pearly Shells," the second graders sang "Kau Kau Song," the third graders sang "The Best Day of My Life" and the fourth and fifth graders sang "Mele Aku ia Iehova." The fifth graders also performed a hula to "Kaleleonālani."

The ceremony concluded with Student Council President Brooke Jones recapping the year, Bailey-Walsh naming the 2018-19 student council officers and a blessing by St. Andrew's Schools Chaplain Rev. Annalise Pasalo.

Full list of Lower School awardees.

Upper School

The Upper School ceremony got underway with an 'oli from the graduating Class of 2018. Upper School Principal Nichole Field explained the meaning behind student awards and unveiled criteria for each as they were presented to students. Representatives from many of the organizations sponsoring awards spoke before presenting the students with their awards. As each student was called to stage, celebratory cheers could be heard echoing inside the cathedral.

Among the many awards presented at the ceremony was The United States Military Academy at West Point Certificate of Appointment, which was presented to senior Jordan Jones. Jones' award includes tuition, room and board, medical insurance coverage and other associated benefits totaling approximately $350,000. The crowd was wild with excitement as she was presented her certificate.

Athletic awards were The Jubinsky Scholar Athlete Award, which was received by freshman Ayla Ruiz, sophomore Maya Reed and junior Olivia Stoetzer. The St. Andrew's Schools Most Inspirational Athlete Award went to Maya Reed and the St. Andrew's Schools The Priory Athlete of the Year was given to Jordan Jones.

The Kūlia Awards for Excellence is the most distinguished award given to The Priory students for academic excellence. One middle school student and one high school student was selected for each award category, which included math, science, music, visual arts, religious studies, world languages and Hawaiian culture and tradition.

National Scholastic Art and Writing Awards were presented by Visual Arts Instructor Alethia Donathan. Kiana Hasegawa was presented with the National Scholastic Art and Writing Regional Silver Key and Gold Key Award and the National Scholastic Art and Writing National American Voice and Vision Nomination. Samantha Tome received the National Scholastic Art and Writing Regional Silver Key Award and Charlene Leodones was awarded the National Scholastic Art and Writing Regional Gold Key and Writing National Silver Medal.

Following the student awards, special senior awards were presented to the Class of 2018.

Full list of Upper School awardees.

The Prep

The morning concluded with The Prep's recognition ceremony. The Prep's Principal, Paul Burgess, got the event underway by welcoming the boys and their families. He started by explaining to the youngsters how they would receive their awards from their teachers. The students cheered with excitement as each was recognized and came up to the stage to receive his award.

In Kindergarten, awards included most kind, best listener, most growth and improvement and best journal writer. First grade awards included hardest worker, amazing artist, most creative, most independent, amazing reader and most friendly. Second grade awards included best hip-hop dancer, most energetic, most helpful and all-around learner. Third grade awards included best musician, math whiz, wise worker and best writer.

The Hawaiian Value Awards were also presented. The Aloha (affection and compassion for others) Award was given to Pomaikai Kauka and Justin Morikawa, the Ho'omanawanui (steadfast, patient and resilient) Award was awarded to Luke Herring and Harper Greene, the 'Imi Na'auao (joy of learning) Award was presented to Kysen Dung and Piha Reyes, the Lokomaika'i (gracious and kind) Award was presented to Andrew Kim and Eli Rocheleau, the Mālama (caring) Award went to Christopher Mount and Neal Sehgal and the Pono (doing the right thing) Award was given to Quinn Yamamoto and Zachary Andrews.

Following the awards, Burgess – who will be leaving the school for the Mainland – was then honored with lei, gifts and a memory book – created by students and parents – as a token of appreciation. An announcement was made that the "Burgess baskets" would forever hang on the court in honor of the founding principal of The Prep.

Full list of The Prep awardees.

Congratulations to all our special 2018 award recipients!